New classifications for electric vehicles

The Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders has changed the way it categorises electric vehicles to provide a clearer distinction between the different types of powertrains.

From petrol and diesel to hybrid, plug-in hybrid, pure electric and hydrogen, there is an increasing number of variations of powertrain that can lead to confusion.

To provide some clarity, the SMMT has published a useful table to explain the different technologies and the driving conditions that they are best suited for.

Powertrain categories include: Diesel, Petrol, Battery Electric Vehicle (BEV), Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle (PHEV), Hybrid Electric Vehicle (HEV) and Mild Hybrid Electric Vehicle (MHEV).

An SMMT spokesperson said: “We’ve changed the way we publicise registrations of what we would previously have grouped under alternatively fuelled vehicles (AFV). We’re looking to highlight the diversity of technology on offer.”

Read the list of different powertrains here on the SMMT website.